No, I do not want to touch your pregnant belly.

Attention all pregnant women:  I do not want to touch your belly.  It creeps me out.

The times my sister was pregnant, everyone in the family wanted to see the baby kick or feel the baby kick.  Even complete strangers came up to rub her stomache.

Let me stop right here and say, this is not ok.  If you do not know the woman who is pregnant, it is not ok for you to walk up to her and rub her belly.  Doing this makes you weird.

Anyway, back to the point I was making.  It seems that all other people think it is so normal.  Personally, it disturbs me.  Lately I’ve realized this may be a generational thing.  Almost every woman, my age, I have spoken with has the same reaction to being asked, “Do you want to feel the baby kick?”  The answer seems to be overwhelmingly, “No, awkward.”

Leave a Reply

